IPL : Checklist of Purple Cap winners in each season

With Mumbai Indians profitable the IPL trophy for 4 instances which is probably the most gained by any workforce, we check out the people who’ve gained most Purple Cap awards within the event. Purple Cap is given to the bowler who picks most wickets on the finish of the season whereas main run scorer on the finish of the season will get the orange cap, an inventory we have now already compiled in one other article.

2008  : Sohail Tanvir – 22 Wickets

The inaugural season of IPL was the one season the place Pakistani gamers had been allowed to take part within the competitors and Pakistani left arm sensation (at the moment) made it a season to recollect for himself. Tanvir had a really uncommon motion and had slower deliveries as his important weapon. He performed 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals and picked up 22 wickets at a strike charge of 11.22. His economic system of 6.46 too means that he grew to become a go to bowler for his captain who used this unknown commodity rather well serving to Royals win their first and solely IPL trophy.

2009 : RP Singh – 23 Wickets

From one left hander to a different, Deccan Chargers’ RP Singh gained the purple cap in 2009 as he picked up 23 wickets for his facet who emerged victorious beating RCB within the ultimate. Singh, who performed pivotal function in India’s success in WT20 a few years in the past was well-known for his inswing. The left arm pacer picked up 23 wickets at a median of 18 and economic system beneath 7 within the second deason of IPL which was performed in useful circumstances for quick bowling.

2010 : Pragyan Ojha – 21 Wickets

IPL was again in India and so was the impact of spinners. Such was the affect that four of the main 5 wicket takers that season had been spinners with Pragyan Ojha topping the chart. Ojha took a complete of 21 wickets in 16 matches at a median of 20. His economic system was over 7 however beneath Eight which you’d think about good for an attacking spinner who typically has to purchase his wickets. Ojha gained the purple cap however his facet didn’t win the IPL trophy for the primary time among the many different purple cap winners.

2011 : Lasith Malinga – 28 Wickets

Lasith Malinga is undoubtedly the best bowler to play in IPL. A recognition he has proved together with his exceptional consistency through the years. Solely in 2017, Malinga has picked up lower than 15 wickets. He was at his finest in 2011 when he broke the present document of 23 wickets in a season. Malinga virtually led Mumbai Indians to their maiden IPL trophy together with his heroic over the season. In 16 matches, Malinga picked up 28 wickets at an economic system of 5.95. It’s so arduous to imagine somebody can go at that economic system on this format.

2012 – Morne Morkel : 25 Wickets

Delhi Daredevils, now Delhi Capitals have been some of the unsuccessful groups within the historical past of IPL regardless of having high quality gamers of their ranks. Nevertheless, they seemed all set to win their first ever trophy in 2012 on the again of Morne Morkel’s gallant efforts. They had been knocked out within the playoffs stage regardless of ending first within the desk however Morkel made certain his efficiency earns him the most important reward a bowler will get on this competitors. The South African speedster picked up 25 wickets from 16 video games in that season.

2013 – Dwayne Bravo : 32 Wickets

In all probability not as a lot as Malinga however Dwayne Bravo has had an amazing affect at IPL through the years. The affect might be measured by the truth that he holds the document of taking probably the most variety of wickets in a single IPL season which is 32 in 2013. He clearly earned a purple cap award for his stellar efficiency in that season. Bravo’s economic system was on a barely increased facet however his strike charge of solely 11 made issues really easy for Dhoni all through IPL 2013.

2014 – Mohit Sharma : 23 Wickets

Chennai Tremendous Kings quick bowler Mohit Sharma emerged as an especially helpful dying bowler not only for CSK but additionally for India in the course of the subsequent couple of years. Staying true to the context, Sharma had a really misleading again of the hand slower ball, which mixed together with his well timed utilization compelled so many batsmen to make errors. Mohit picked up 23 wickets from 16 matches that season, gained the purple cap and later acquired chosen for Indian nationwide workforce as nicely.

2015 : Dwayne Bravo – 26 Wickets

CSK bowlers had whole domination over the purple cap awards in these three years however the trophy nonetheless someway evaded the boys in Yellow. Bravo once more used all his wit, abilities and expertise to bag 26 wickets from 17 video games. In comparison with his earlier purple cap profitable efficiency in 2013, his economic system went barely up however his strike rarte of 12 remained identical kind of.

2016 : Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 23 Wickets

Not solely Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up wickets however he additionally saved a decent verify on the run stream which helped SRH beat RCB by Eight runs in a decent ultimate performed at Chinnaswamy stadium. Bhuvneshwear had change into a professional at dying bowling by that point and it was his abilities of bowling excellent yorkers at dying which blended with the slower balls helped him bag 23 scalps in 17 video games that season.

2017 : Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 26 Wickets

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the one bowler to win again to again purple caps within the historical past of IPL. After ending his work in 2016, he began from the place he had left final yr. Bhuvi went on to enhance his numbers as he picked up 26 wickets at a strike charge of 12 which is 5 higher than his strike charge of 17 final season however his workforce failed to copy the identical success which reveals why is it necessary to work collectively as an unit.

2018 : Andrew Tye – 24 Wickets

Season 2018 confirmed had neck and neck competitors for the purple cap award however ultimately, it was Kings XI Punjab’s Andrew Tye who gained the race as he had 24 wickets to indicate from 14 matches. His facet Kings XI didn’t qualify for playoffs which meant he solely had 14 video games to play and win one thing as large as this. Tye had an excellent knuckle ball which he used to the most effective results in that season. He averaged 18 and had an economic system of precisely 8.

2019 : Imran Tahir – 26 Wickets

Imran Tahir returned with 26 wickets within the earlier season of IPL to propel CSK to the IPL ultimate which they misplaced to Mumbai Indians by simply 1 run. Tahir had a really shut competitors with personal countryman and Delhi Capitals’ quick bowler Kagiso Rabada whom he managed to surpass within the ultimate the place he picked up 2 wickets. Tahir additionally had a powerful economic system of solely 6.69 however that may be attributed to the truth that he performed most of his dwelling matches on gradual pitches of Chepauk. He holds the document of most variety of wickets taken by a spinner in a single IPL season.


No Comments

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *