IPL : Record of Orange Cap Winners in each season

With Mumbai Indians profitable the IPL trophy for 4 instances which is probably the most received by any group, we check out the people who’ve received most Orange Cap awards within the match. Orange Cap is given to the batsman who scores most runs on the finish of the season whereas main wicket taker on the finish of the season will get the purple cap, a listing we are going to compile in one other article.

2008 : Shaun Marsh – 616 runs

Australian batsman Shaun Marsh who performed for Kings XI Punjab within the inaugural season of IPL received the orange cap in 2008 after placing 616 runs within the season. The southpaw was in scintillating kind which is fairly evident from the truth that he performed solely 11 matches to amass these 616 runs. He transformed 6 of his 11 outings into large ones as he went on to attain 5 fifties and a 100.

2009 : Matthew Hayden – 572 runs

Chennai Tremendous Kings opening batsman Matthew Hayden received the distinguished award in 2009 as he went on to attain 572 runs in simply 12 video games. Hayden too scored 5 half centuries and had a strike charge of 144 within the match which was performed in South Africa. Regardless of his impression, CSK nonetheless needed to wait for one more season to win their maiden IPL competitors.

2010 : Sachin Tendulkar – 618 runs

It’s unattainable to cease Sachin Tendulkar from creating any type of batting report and though IPL followers needed to wait a few years, they did get to see the very best of Sachin Tendulkar within the third season of IPL the place Grasp Blaster and the captain of Mumbai Indians broke the present report and scored 618 runs within the season with 5 50s in 15 matches. It’s a staggering undeniable fact that he solely hit three sixes in your entire season.

2011 : Chris Gayle – 608 runs

After getting unsold within the public sale, Chris Gayle made KKR repent their determination of leaving him out as he took IPL by storm making a comeback to the match for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gayle started the season with a 100 towards his former group KKR and accomplished with 608 runs in 12 matches with 2 100s and three half centuries. Gayle additionally hit 44 sixes, a report which he solely went on to enhance in 2012.

2012 : Chris Gayle – 733 runs

Within the subsequent season, Gayle went even additional in the case of breaking information and sensationalizing his personal efficiency. Gayle scored an enormous 733 runs within the 2012 season at a strike charge of 160. In these 15 matches of the season, Gayle scored 7 half centuries and a century. He additionally hit 59 sixes which was 15 greater than the variety of fours he hit in that specific season.

2013 : Michael Hussey – 733 runs

Within the subsequent season, Aussie batsman and CSK opener Michael Hussey carried out like an outdated wine because the skilled campaigner matched Gayle’s report of 733 runs in a single specific season. You may’t say he stunned everybody by this as a result of he was at all times a constant performer for Australia in restricted overs cricket however Hussey’s stellar yr with bat made certain CSK began trusting in expertise greater than youth since then.

2014 : Robin Uthappa – 660 runs

KKR opener Robin Uthappa went on to grow to be the primary & solely batsman to this point to win IPL trophy together with the Orange Cap. Thus far, not one of the orange cap holders had gone on to win the trophy and Uthappa broke that jinx in 2014 as his aspect lifted the IPL trophy for second time beating KXIP within the closing. Uthappa himself confirmed great consistency as he scored 660 runs with 5 half centuries in 16 matches.

2015 : David Warner – 562 runs

David Warner has grown in stature over time in the case of IPL and now he’s acknowledged as among the finest abroad batsmen in the case of IPL. He has received three orange cap awards in final 5 seasons, a supremacy which began again in 2015 when he was appointed as captain of SunRisers Hyderabad. Warner scored 562 runs in 2015 with 7 50s in 14 matches. He additionally had a greater than spectacular strike charge of 156 which is his highest enjoying for this franchise.

2016 : Virat Kohli – 973 runs

RCB skipper Virat Kohli lastly had a unprecedented season as he shattered all of the batting information ever made in IPL. Kohli scored an entire lot of runs, 973 to be exact which remains to be the best variety of runs a batsman has made within the season. He averaged 81 and his strike charge was 152. Earlier than that season, Kohli had no 100 in T20s, he scored four of these in that specific season solely. Kohli additionally scored 7 half centuries which suggests he had 11 50+ scores in 16 innings. Sadly for him, he couldn’t lay off his arms on the IPL trophy regardless of all his unbelievable efforts.

2017 : David Warner – 641 runs

Earlier than 2017, Warner had scored 828 runs within the earlier season which was a unprecedented efficiency overshadowed by an excellent higher efficiency from Virat Kohli. Warner scored 641 runs at a median of 58 in 2017 which received him the orange cap for the second time, a feat solely he and Chris Gayle had achieved until now.

2018 : Kane Williamson – 735 runs

Kane Williamson, often called a conventional Check match batsman until then broke all of the myths about him as a T20 batter because the SRH captain ( for that specific season ) scored 735 runs within the season to win the Orange Cap award. His strike charge of 142 was greater than good to earn him the respect as a T20 batsman. Williamson scored 8 50s within the season however his aspect didn’t win the match by a whisker as SRH have been defeated by CSK within the closing.

2019 : David Warner – 692 runs

In some ways, 2019 was David Warner’s finest season though he had scored extra runs in a season earlier than. Warner received his third Orange Cap in 2019 however what stood out for him was his consistency as he scored Eight fifties together with a 100 in simply 12 video games. His ratio of 75% 50+ scores in a selected season beat Kohli’s 68.75% 50+ scores in IPL 2016 and when you’ve got outnumbered somebody’s extraordinary season ultimately, it needs to be your finest season.


No Comments

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *