Shashank Manohar steps down as ICC Chairman

Shashank Manohar has stepped down as ICC Chairman after the ICC Board meet after 4 years. Imran Khwaja, who was the deputy chairman, will function the interim chairman until Manohar’s successor is finalised by subsequent week.

“On behalf of the ICC Board and employees and the entire cricket household, I want to thank Shashank for his management and every little thing he has performed for the game as ICC Chairman. We want him and his household all the perfect for the longer term,” ICC Chief Government Manu Sawhney.

Manohar rose to the ICC chairmanship in 2016, when he was elected unopposed, and went on to say a second time period in 2018 in related vogue. Within the first two years in workplace, Manohar oversaw modifications to ICC’s governance construction and monetary mannequin, regardless of sturdy opposition from BCCI. When it was time for the election in 2018, Manohar’s candidature was the one one put forth by the administrators at ICC.

“Everybody on the ICC Board extends their wholehearted due to Shashank for the dedication he has proven to our sport. There isn’t any doubt that cricket owes Shashank a debt of gratitude for all he has performed for the game. He has left cricket and the ICC in a greater place than he discovered it,” Khwaja mentioned.

With Manohar ending his stint, Colin Graves, who has already introduced that his tenure as ECB chairman will finish on August 3, is amongst for the seat. As reported earlier by Cricbuzz, there’s one other suitor vying to be ICC chairman. Chris Nenzani, the CSA president, politely cited ICC protocols and people of his personal board whereas sidestepping Graeme Smith’s advice.

As per the ICC structure, one of many present administrators within the board or a former director (who has not occupied the place for six or extra years) qualifies to contest for the place of the chairman, if proposed by any of the Member Nations.


No Comments

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *